2019 Forestry Awards Winners

Home / 2019 Forestry Awards Winners

Wilshier honoured for huge contribution to forestry

Warwick Wilshier isn’t often lost for words. He’s the one that always steps up to speak, comes up with the new ideas and is quick to campaign for causes he believes in – especially if it helps someone else.

But on being told he was being recognised as the inaugural Eastland Wood Council Industry Champion 2019 he was clearly taken aback. True to form, the four decade veteran of the forestry industry – who owns Williams & Wilshier and is in partnership with Calvin Paddon with the company Pacific Haulage – says that while he may be the one named as the recipient of the award, it is really about the “truly professional” team of managers and drivers at those two companies.

NZ Apprentice of the Year

Arana Kuru

A&R Logging

Trainee of the Year

Hemi Tuapawa

Pride Forestry

Training Company/ Contractor of the Year

Williams & Wilshier Pacific Haulage

Forestry Excellence of the Year

Nafi-Talai Vailea

Vailea Silviculture

Roading Excellence of the Year

Jack Kuru

Kuru Contracting

Harvesting Excellence of the Year

Tapu Dixon

Blackstump Logging

Distribution Excellence of the Year

Peter Muir

Pacific Haulage

Wood Processing of the Year

David Rameka


Woman in Forestry Excellence Award

Megan Costello

Ernslaw One

Construction Excellence of the Year

Brian Deam

Big Bark Loading

Faller Excellence of the Year

Matt Mackintosh

Big Bark Loading

Pavement Excellence of the Year

Sam Morice

Kuru Contracting

Contractor of the Year

McKay Cartage

Outstanding H&S Management of the Year

Williams & Wilshier Pacific Haulage

Outstanding Environmental Management of the Year

Mark Richards Matt Schmele

Eastland Port Infrastructure

Outstanding Regional Service Provider of the Year

Alan Paulson

Tairawhiti Timber Training
Loading posts...
Sort Gallery
Enter your email here